Basic Info About Australian Rules Football

March 7, 2021 | By king.97 | Filed in: Uncategorized.

They say that football is the most popular sport on the planet. Certainly, no one will dispute this. This ‘football’ refers to soccer. However, football also comes in different forms. There’s rugby football, American football, and there’s Australian football.

Also called ‘Australian rules football’ and ‘Aussie rules,’ this sport is also played between two teams on either an Australian football ground or a modified cricket field. Each opposing team is composed of 18 players on the field. บ้านผลบอล


Just like American football, scoring points is mainly achieved by kicking the ball between two tall goal posts. If the kick is successful, the team is given 6 points. There’s also another way to score called a ‘behind,’ which is scored when the ball passes through the space between a goal post and a behind post at any height. Each successful pass gets 1 point. Just like with most other sports, the team that scores the most points at the end of the game wins it.


There’s not much equipment needed to play this sport. As with other types of football, the players wear boots with studs (or stops/cleats) in the soles. They’re required to wear shorts and a thick shirt or jumper known as a ‘guernsey.’ The ball used in the sport is an ellipsoid ball, which looks very much like the ball used in American football or rugby.


Each game is played in four quarters, with each quarter lasting 20 minutes of play. When there’s a stoppage during the game for various reasons such as scores, the clock is also stopped. Stoppages may extend the each quarter to between 5 and 10 minutes. Compared to other sports aired on TV, the official game clock is known only by the official timekeepers and is not displayed to the public and even to the players.

AFL season

The sport is marketed as AFL or Australian Football League. The season proper is between March to August (which is around early autumn to late winter in the land down under) every year. In southern Australia, pre-season games start in late February.


Compared to other popular sports leagues like the NBA and NFL, the AFL operates on a single table system. This means there are no divisions or conferences. There are currently 18 clubs in the league, with Greater Western Sydney as its latest addition in 2012.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *